26.8 C
Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Bangkok and 5 other provinces are allowed to receive foreign tourists again on October 1, dozens of other provinces are now also discussed


Must read

The second phase of the country’s reopening is set to come after the success of the tourism “sandbox program” in Phuket, Phang Nga, Krabi Surat Thani in the past two months,” said government spokesman Thanakorn Wangboonkongchana.

Phuket’s “sandbox tourists” spent an average of 6,000-7,000 baht each, providing tourism income of 1.634 billion baht to boost the recovery of the island’s economy, Thanakorn said.

In this second phase, Bangkok and the provinces of Chonburi, Phetchaburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan and Chiang Mai will reopen to foreign tourists on October 1, a government spokesman said.

In phase 3 of the plan, another 21 provinces will open in mid-October.

These are Lamphun, Phrae, Nan, Mae Hong Son, Chiang Rai and Sukhothai in the north; Udon Thani, Nong Khai, Bueng Kan and Ubon Ratchathani in the northeast; Kanchanaburi and Ratchaburi in the West; Rayong, Chanthaburi and Trat in the East; Ayutthaya in the central region and Nakhon Si Thammarat, Ranong and Satun in the south.

In phase 4, another 13 border provinces will open in January next year under travel bubble agreements with neighbouring countries.

Catch up on more stories here

Follow us on Facebook here

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article