26.8 C
Wednesday, February 28, 2024

State of emergency in 3 southern provinces of Thailand extended for another 3 months


Must read

The Emergency Management Committee decided yesterday to extend the state of emergency in three southern provinces – Narathiwat, Yala and Pattani – for another three months from September 20 to December 19.

In a meeting chaired by Deputy Prime Minister General Prawit Wongsuwan, the commission decided that most districts in the three provinces will be under the state of emergency.

The decree does not apply to Si Sakhon, Sungai Kolok and Sukirin districts in Narathiwat, Betong and Kabang districts of Yala, and Mai Kaen and Mae Lan districts in Pattani.

The commission said the extension of the state of emergency will help authorities identify insurgents seeking to undermine national security through violence and terrorism, and ensure the safety of people in the areas.

Prawit, meanwhile, urged security officials in the south to take strict action against illegal migrants who use natural channels to sneak into the country, saying they may be responsible for the spread of Covid-19 infections in local communities.

“The government is closely monitoring the Covid19 situation and is preparing to relax lockdown measures in provinces willing to resume economic activities,” Prawit added.

Catch up on more stories here

Follow us on Facebook here

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article